If you know someone in your area who deserves a ribbon, please nominate that person.

Ribbon-cutting ceremony

The rain of ribbons takes place every year on the last working day before King's Day. Most royal honors are awarded during this rain of ribbons.

  • Would you like to nominate someone for next year's ribbon-cutting ceremony? Then send your application to the municipality no later than July 1 of this year.
  • If it is a presentation during a special (interim) occasion, send your request at least 6 months before the desired date.
  • You submit your request to the municipality where the person you are nominating lives.
  • Want to make sure first whether someone is eligible for a ribbon? Then contact the Legal Affairs and Administrative Support Department (Jabo) in advance by emailing onderscheidingen@zoetermeer.nl or calling 14 079.


  • You first fill out a short application form at www.lintjes.nl.
  • This form will be sent to the municipality.
  • One of our staff members will review your request and assess whether there is enough reason to proceed with the nomination. The staff member may contact you first.
  • We will then send you a link via email to the complete online proposal form which you must complete.

Other awards

Municipal awards

A municipal award is a token of appreciation for a person or organization that has dedicated themselves in a special way to the city of Zoetermeer and/or its residents. The municipality of Zoetermeer has four different municipal awards.

For more information, see Municipal Awards.

Royal medal of honor

Only an association, foundation or institution that has existed for at least 50 years can receive a Royal Medal of Honor. 

For more information, see Royal Medal of Honor.

Royal predicate

The Predicate Royal is a distinction that can be granted to associations, foundations, institutions or large corporations. 

For more information, see Royal predicate.

Becoming a Court Supplier

The addition "By Royal Order Court Supplier" can be awarded to small and medium-sized businesses that are prominent in their region and have been in existence for 100, 125 (or multiples of 25) years.

For more information, see Becoming a Court Supplier.